Who We Are
Spotlight on Connecticut Students & Residents


Michael Simon
Undergraduate Institution: Florida State University
Medical School: Touro College of Osteopathic Medicine, Middletown, NY


Where are you from?
I am originally from Pompano Beach, FL where I lived from birth (September 1991) until I started high school. My family and I moved to Archer, FL, a much more rural area, when I was 14 and I attended high school in Gainesville. My father is an interventional radiologist and entomologist and my mother was formerly a nurse.

In the very beginning, why did you decide to practice medicine?
As the son of a physician I wasn't always keen on following in my father's footsteps. I wanted to do something that was unique and my own, though it was hard to deny the attraction of such a meaningful and challenging field. I chose to study biology at FSU because it combined my interest in nature with my strength in science which I had always enjoyed. During my time at FSU I volunteered in labs, worked as a teaching assistant, and shadowed physicians to try and get an idea of what I wanted to do. Also during this time I was in a serious airboat accident with my father who had to be airlifted to a trauma center and then faced a lengthy road to nearly full recovery. This experience and the exposure to medicine from a somewhat foreign perspective of a patient definitely helped lead me to my conclusion. I knew then that medicine would be the most fulfilling and interesting career path for me.

And why Osteopathic Medicine?
My father is an allopathic physician. I chose to pursue osteopathic medicine specifically because it seemed to me that it was a more complete medical training. It offered a full medical education in addition to a patient-centered preventive medicine approach and OMT. The emphasis on musculoskeletal dysfunction also interested me as a fitness enthusiast.

What has been the most interesting experience during your training at Sharon Hospital?
I am still very early on in my training at Sharon Hospital, having only completed my surgical clerkship, but I have thoroughly enjoyed it. I have not only enjoyed the hospital and staff here, but also the area and what it has to offer.

My most interesting experience so far has been assisting during an appendectomy on an 8-year-old boy. I had the opportunity to meet the family, hear their concerns, inform them about their son's situation, assist on the surgery and then revisit with the family after everything went well. That was very impactful. The comprehensiveness of the care in this case and others has swayed me to consider pursuing surgery contrary to my initial interests in ER and internal medicine.

What are your hobbies and interests outside of medicine?
My hobbies include fishing, fitness, sports such as basketball and track & field, hiking and snowboarding. Now that I live in New England, I take insect collecting trips with my father.

What is next for you? Immediate plans after this year?
After this year I plan to do a few four-week audition rotations in the specialty I choose to pursue at some larger hospitals though I do not know where as of now. I will also be taking part two of both the COMLEX and USMLE. My long term practice goals are still developing. At this point in time I plan on living and practicing in a rural area. I have not yet finalized what field of medicine I most want to pursue. Returning to Connecticut to practice is absolutely a possibility that interests me but I have a long way to go before reaching that point.